IMG_1082.jpg
IMG_0188.jpeg
IMG_0221.jpeg
67185609_472835023303339_2163748014840086528_n.jpg
67379992_476040146303546_4976216982513778688_n.jpg
67805300_407016763256925_49935630540472320_n.jpg

Groundwater microbial communities in the shallow subsurface

The diversity, structure, and functions of planktonic microbial communities in groundwater habitats are influenced by local parameters such as aquifer geology or water geochemistry. They are also affected by conditions found at the surface, such as the seasons, rain or snowmelt, or types of surface soils (forests, agriculture).

 

We are therefore interested in studying temporal and spatial variations of planktonic microbial communities, at two aquifer systems in the Quebec region. We are collecting samples for two whole years (september to august 2019 et 2021, and following their path from their recharge zone to their discharge zone, to make a connection between the surface plankton communities and the subsurface communities.

Project led by Karine Villeneuve

Collaboration: Prof. Marie Larocque (UQAM )

                     Prof. Benoit Barbeau (UQAM)

Aquifers vary in size and in the distance they travel. Some can stretch on a few meters, and others go for kilometers. Thus, the objectives of this biogeography project are to study the variations of microbial communities in the groundwater of a wide variety of aquifers disseminated in the Laurentians and Lanaudière regions in Quebec. This project is part of the PACES project (Groundwater Acquisition Program, led by M. Larocque).

 

Project led by Benjamin Groult

Collaboration: Prof. Marie Larocque  (UQAM)

IMG_1082.jpg
IMG_0188.jpeg
IMG_0221.jpeg
67185609_472835023303339_2163748014840086528_n.jpg
67379992_476040146303546_4976216982513778688_n.jpg
67805300_407016763256925_49935630540472320_n.jpg

Communautés microbiennes dans les eaux souterraines de la subsurface superficielle

La diversité, la structure, et les fonctions des communautés microbiennes planctoniques dans les habitats d'eau souterraine sont influencés à la fois par des paramètres locaux tels que la géologie de l'aquifère ou la géochimie de l'eau. Ils sont aussi affectés par les conditions trouvés à la surface, tels que les saisons, la pluie ou la fonte des neige, ou les types de sols de surface (forêts, agriculture).

 

Nous nous intéressons donc à la fois à des aspects de variations temporelle et spatiale des communautés microbiennes planctoniques, au niveau de deux aquifères de la région du Québec. Nous récoltons des échantillons pendant deux années entières (septembre à août 2019 et 2021), et en suivant leur parcours depuis leur zone de recharge jusqu'à leur zone de décharge, pour faire un lien entre les communautés planctoniques de surface et la subsurface.

Projet mené par Karine Villeneuve

Collaboration: Prof. Marie Larocque (UQAM)                               Prof. Benoit Barbeau (UQAM)

Les aquifères sont variables en termes de taille et de la distances qu'ils parcourent. Certains peuvent s'étendre sur quelques mètres, d'autres s'étalent sur des kilomètres. Ainsi, ce projet de biogéographie a pour objectifs d'étudier les variations des communautés microbiennes dans les eaux souterraines d'une large variété d'aquifères disséminés dans les régions Laurentides et Lanaudière au Québec. Ce projet s'inscrit dans le cadre du projet PACES (Programme d'Acquisition des Eaux Souterraines, mené par M. Larocque).

 

Projet mené par Benjamin Groult

Collaboration: Prof. Marie Larocque (UQAM)