Geological characterization of subsurface rocks through the identification of microbial communities

MSc research project

A MSc-level research project is available at the Biological Sciences department, University of Quebec at Montreal (UQAM), to study the diversity and structure of endolithic microbial communities in the Quebec region. The diversity of microbial populations is closely associated with its immediate environment (e.g. physicochemical properties, pH, temperature, oxygen concentrations, or geochemistry, concentrations of organic or inorganic carbon, nitrogen compounds, etc.). The same goes for the microorganisms that live in the rock pores (endolithic), which depend and are even specific to the minerals present in the rock, but also to the atoms that compose it. The objective of this project is to determine the composition of the microbial communities present in rocks or minerals, in order to be able to use this analysis as a tool for characterizing the rock layers analyzed (lithostratigraphy, atomic composition, age, geological layer, etc.). The identification of microbial communities will be done by genomic methods and multivariate statistical analyses.

The candidate will receive training in microbial ecology, geoscience, genomics, bioinformatics, and experimental research. The candidate will have the opportunity to go to the field, and collect their samples. The candidate will collaborate with Derena Geosciences (consulting firm in the field of energy and natural resources), as well as with the organization MISA (working to stimulate innovation in the mining sector in Quebec) . The successful candidate will benefit from a dynamic work and research environment in the field of microbial ecology at UQAM, and within GEOTOP.

The successful candidate should ideally have a BSc degree in Biology or Environmental Sciences, will be able to demonstrate research potential, and will show a keen interest in microbial ecology and geosciences. Experience in the fields of microbiology, molecular biology, statistical analyses, and/or bioinformatics will be considered an asset. French linguistic skills are not required, but would also be considered an asset.

The starting date is September 2022. The interested applicant should send a cover letter (1 page maximum) describing their academic background and research interests, and a CV to:

Cassandre Lazar, Associate Professor

Department of Biological Sciences, UQAM

lazar.cassandre@uqam.ca

Caractérisation géologique de roches souterraines par l'identification des communautés microbiennes

Projet de recherche à la Maîtrise

Un projet de recherche niveau maîtrise est disponible au département des Sciences Biologiques, Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM), pour étudier la diversité et la structure des communautés microbiennes endolithiques de la région du Québec. La diversité des populations microbiennes est étroitement associée à son environnement proche (ex. propriétés physico-chimiques, pH, température, concentrations d'oxygène, ou géochimiques, concentrations en carbone organique ou inorganique, en composés azotés, etc). Il en va de même pour les microorganismes qui vivent dans les pores de roches (endolithiques), qui dépendent et sont même spécifiques des minéraux présents dans la roche, mais aussi des atomes qui la composent. Ce projet a pour objectif de déterminer la composition des communautés microbiennes présentes dans les roches ou les minerais, afin de pouvoir utiliser cette analyse comme outil de caractérisation des couches rocheuses analysées (lithostratigraphie, composition atomique, âge, couche géologique, etc). L'identification des communautés microbiennes se fera par des méthodes de génomique, et analyses statistiques multivariées.

La/le candidat(e) recevra une formation en écologie microbienne, géoscience, génomique, bioinformatique, et recherche expérimentale. La/le candidat(e) aura la possibilité d'aller sur le terrain, et de récolter ses échantillons. La/le candidat(e) collaborera avec Derena Geosciences (firme de consultation dans le domaine de l'énergie et des ressources naturelles), ainsi qu'avec l'organisation MISA (oeuvrant pour stimuler l'innovation dans le domaine minier au Québec). La/le candidat(e) retenu(e) profitera d'un environnement de travail et de recherche dynamique dans les domaine de l'écologie microbienne à l'UQAM, et au sein du GEOTOP.

La/le candidat(e) retenu(e) devra idéalement posséder un baccalauréat en Biologie ou Sciences de l'environnement, saura démontrer un potentiel en recherche, et montrera un intérêt vif pour l'écologie microbienne et les géosciences. De l'expérience dans les domaines de la microbiologie, biologie moléculaire, analyses statistiques, et/ou bioinformatique seront considérés être un atout.

La date d'entrée en fonction est Septembre 2022. La/le postulant(e) intéressé(e) est prié d'envoyer une lettre de motivation (1 page maximum) décrivant son parcours académique et ses intérêts de recherche, et un CV à:

Cassandre Lazar, Professeure associée

Département des Sciences Biologiques, UQAM

lazar.cassandre@uqam.ca