IMG_6883.jpg
IMG_6884.jpg
IMG_6886.jpg
IMG_1183.jpg
Image from iOS.jpg
IMG_1184.jpg
IMG_1192.jpg

Sessile and endolithic microbial communities in the shallow subsurface

In the terrestrial subsurface, microbial populations can be found in groundwater, but also attached to particles (sessile) or in rock pores (endolithic). The diversity and abundance of these populations is strongly influenced by the depth, the texture of the sediments or the geology of the rocks, or the geochemical parameters which govern these saturated and unsaturated zones.

This project focuses on the microbial communities that live attached to particles or in the pores of rocks, and to the succession of their diversity along a depth gradient. It is carried out on sediments and rocks collected during the drilling of wells carried out at two sites located in the Laurentians.

Project led by Julia Meyer

Collaboration: Prof. Marie Larocque (UQAM )

Microbial populations that live attached to particles or on rock surface are subjected to significant fluctuations in their external environment. The in situ study of the dynamics of these sessile communities (activities, succession of populations, metabolisms) is extremely hard to carry out because of the difficulty in accessing underground samples.

Therefore, in this project, we use a system of bioreactors, which reconstitutes in the lab the flow of groundwater on solid surfaces, while maintaining the physicochemical conditions found in underground habitats. We can therefore analyze the diversity of sessile populations that colonize solid surfaces, and their metabolic functions.

 

Project led by  Divya Patel

Collaboration:  Prof. Marie Larocque  (UQAM)

IMG_6883.jpg
IMG_6884.jpg
IMG_6886.jpg
IMG_1183.jpg
Image from iOS.jpg
IMG_1184.jpg
IMG_1192.jpg

Communautés microbiennes sessiles et endolithiques dans la subsurface superficielle

Dans la subsurface terrestre, les populations microbiennes peuvent se trouver à la fois dans les eaux souterraines, mais aussi attachées à des particules (sessiles) ou dans les pores des roches (endolithiques). La diversité et l'abondance de ces populations est fortement influencée par la profondeur, la texture des sédiments ou la géologie des roches, ou encore les paramètres géochimiques qui gouvernent ces zones saturées et insaturées.

Ce projet porte sur les communautés microbiennes qui vivent attachés à des particules ou dans les pores des roches, et à la succession de la diversité le long d'un gradient de profondeur. Il s'effectue sur des sédiments et roches récoltés lors d'un forage de puits réalisés dans deux sites situés dans les Laurentides.

Projet mené par Julia Meyer

Collaboration: Prof. Marie Larocque (UQAM)

Les populations microbiennes qui vivent attachées aux particules ou à la surface des roches sont soumises à des fluctuations importantes de leur milieu extérieur. L'étude in situ de la dynamique de ces communautés sessiles (activités, succession des populations, métabolismes) est extrêmement ardue à mener à cause de la difficulté d'accéder aux échantillons souterrains.

Nous utilisons donc dans ce projet un système de bioréacteurs, qui reconstituent au laboratoire l'écoulement de l'eau souterraine sur les surfaces solides, tout en maintenant les conditions physico-chimiques trouvées dans les habitats souterrains. Nous pouvons donc analyser la diversité des populations sessile qui colonisent les surfaces solides, et leurs fonctions métaboliques.

 

Projet mené par Divya Patel

Collaboration: Prof. Marie Larocque (UQAM)